Sustainability Advisory Panel

Chaired by Sir Jonathon Porritt, our Sustainability Advisory Panel has five external members who were selected based on the range of skills and expertise we considered necessary to shape and inform a pioneering sustainability agenda.
Sustainability Advisory Panel Sir Jonathan Porritt.

Sir Jonathon Porritt (United Kingdom), Founder Director of Forum for the Future, UK, Advisory Panel Chair and sustainability thought leader

Sir Jonathon Porritt, co-founder of Forum for the Future, is an eminent writer, broadcaster and commentator on sustainable development. Established in 1996, Forum for the Future is now the UK’s leading sustainable development charity, with a growing presence in the United States, India, Hong Kong, Singapore and Malaysia. He was formerly Director of Friends of the Earth, co-chair of the UK Green Party, and as Chairman of the UK Sustainable Development Commission until 2009, he spent nine years providing high-level advice to Government Ministers. Sir Jonathan was installed as the Chancellor of Keele University in February 2002. He is also Visiting Professor at Loughborough University and UCL. Recent books are 'Capitalism as if the World Matters' (2007) and 'the World We Made' (2013) - which seeks to inspire people about the prospects of a sustainable world in 2050. Sir Jonathon received a CBE in January 2000 for services to environmental protection.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dame Anne Salmond.

Dame Anne Salmond (New Zealand), New Zealand anthropologist and writer

Dame Anne Salmond is a New Zealand anthropologist and historian best known for her writings on New Zealand history, her study of Māori culture, and her efforts to improve intercultural understanding. In 2013, Dame Anne was named the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year and also won the Royal Society of New Zealand Rutherford Medal. Dame Anne has served as Chairwoman of the New Zealand Historic Places Trust Board. She is the only New Zealander to have been elected to both the British Academy and the National Academy of Sciences in the US.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Dr Susanne Becken.

Dr Susanne Becken (Australia), Director of Griffith Institute for Tourism and Professor of Sustainable Tourism, Griffith University, Australia

Prof. Susanne Becken is a Professor of Sustainable Tourism at Griffith University in Australia, a Vice Chancellor Research Fellow at the University of Surrey in the United Kingdom, and the Principal Science Investment Advisor for tourism in the Department of Conservation, New Zealand. In her role as founding Director of the Griffith Institute for Tourism she led the Institute to be recognised as No 2 in the world and No 1 in Australia. She has published over 100 articles on sustainable tourism, climate change and tourism resource use. Susanne is a member of the NOW Transforming Travel Advisory Board and an invited expert on the Whitsunday Climate Change Innovation Hub. Susanne is an elected Fellow of the International Academy of the Study of Tourism.

Sustainability Advisory Panel Tim Jackson.

Professor Tim Jackson (United Kingdom), Professor of Sustainable Development, University of Surrey, Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity

Tim Jackson is Director of the Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity (CUSP), and Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Surrey in the UK. CUSP builds on Tim's vision over three decades to explore the moral, economic and social dimensions of prosperity on a finite planet. He's advised numerous governments and UN agencies on sustainability. Between 2004 and 2011, Tim was Economics Commissioner on the UK Sustainable Development Commission, where his work culminated in the publication of his controversial book Prosperity without Growth (Routledge 2009/2017). In 2016, he was awarded the Hillary Laureate for exceptional international leadership. In addition to his academic work, Tim is an award-winning dramatist with numerous radio-writing credits for the BBC.